## Baton Twirling Timeline – All Organizations

- 1890: Major Millsaps brings the sport of baton twirling to North America when he establishes Millsap's College in Jackson, Mississippi.
- 1945: First Drum Major Magazine
- 1946: NBTA, first Miss Majorette of America contest
- 1947: NBTA (National Board of Technical Advisors) organized by a board lead by Don Sartell NBTA, first efforts to standardize a score sheet
  - NBTA, first Miss Majorette of America (Rosemary Schwebs, winner)
  - DMA, Drum Majorettes of America established by Victor Faber (originally Drum Majors and Majorettes of America)
- 1948: NBTA, John T. Totilas displays leadership in strengthening ties between twirling leaders DMA, first Majorette Queen of America contest (Bobby Kay Ameling, winner)
- 1950: NBTA, first edition of Who's Who in Baton Twirling published
- 1951: NBTA, first National Majorette contest held (Naomi Zarbock, Sr. champion; Ann Nita Ekstrom, Jr. champion
- 1952: NBTA, wages nationwide campaign to win national prominence for twirling
- 1953: NBTA, National Baton Twirling Teachers and Judges organizations begin NBTA, first National Twirling Teachers convention held NBTA, Twirling Hall of Fame inaugurated
- 1954: Popularity of novelty batons becomes highly evident with the increased use of hoops, ribbon batons, fire batons, etc.
- 1955. NBTA, first Jr. Miss Majorette of America contest (Carolyn Ford, winner) Drum Major Magazine becomes pictorial magazine
- 1957: NBTA, score sheets for two baton, flag, and corps contest introduced NBTA, National Championship CORPS contest planned, National Scholarship Committee formed
  - NBTA, Mrs. Majorette of America formed
  - United States Amateur Twirling Association, Inc. organized to promote education and scholarship opportunities
- 1958: NBTA, six scholarships amounting to \$1,000 cash established as prizes for National Majorette Contest
  - United States Baton Twirling Association (USTA) founded.
  - USTA, first Girls' solo champion (Gyl Johnson, Diamond Cup); first strut champion (Karen Kaiser, Silver Boot)
- 1959: NBTA, National Majorette finalists Joyce Rice and Claudette Riley compete on "I've Got a Secret"
  - George Walbridge, Ray Gaedke, and Merl Smith purchase the Ludwig Baton Company and rename it Star Line. Star Line, Inc. (Indiana)
  - USTA, first boys' solo champion (Chet Jones)
- 1960: NBTA, new qualification standards for judges and teachers, new rule book, novice division created
  - WTA, World Twirling Association established
- 1961: NBTA, National Rules Commission established; new Intermediate division, maximum age of 21, new NBTA emblem
- 1962: NBTA, first Miss Majorette of America "In Person" Pageant held at the St. Paul Winter

## Carnival

- International Baton Twirling Association formed
- USTA, first two-baton champion (Kathy Heams)
- 1965: NTBA National Corps and Miss Majorette of American held at New York World's Fair
- 1966: NBTA, America's Youth on Parade, University of Mississippi NBTA, National Boys contest held inside for the first time
- 1967: NBTA, AYOP becomes first baton twirling youth event to attract representatives from all 50 states.
- 1968: NBTA, Strut eliminates twirling to preserve the art of strutting USTA, Dale White first male to win two-baton title
- 1969: NBTA, AYOP held in Syracuse, NY.
- 1970: NBTA, AYOP held at Notre Dame University.
- 1971: NBTA, first College Miss Majorette of America pageant.
- 1973: NBTA, first World Majorette Festival, Hawaii
- 1974: USTA, Solo division split into boys/girls and adult men/women (Michael Cruz, Boys' champion; Joe Poltrone, Adult Men's champion; Debbie Rolph, Girls' champion Diamond Cup; Candy Frank, Adult Women's champion)
- 1975: NBTA, first Juvenile National Majorette Championships "Little Big One," Disney World
- 1976: USTA, first dance twirl competition (Lauren Deery, champion) USTA, first three-baton competition (Ginnette Groome, champion)
- 1977: WBTF formed in London, England. First president: Mr. John Kirkendall of Ypsilanti, Michigan
- 1978: WBTF by-laws agreed upon on Canary Island.
  - NBTA, first Grand Festival Tour of Europe, featuring the United States Twirling Team
- 1979: WBTF World Demonstration of Baton Twirling in Piazza San Marco, Venice, Italy USTA, Glenn Bittenbender first male dance twirl champion
- 1980: WBTF, first world championships with teams from ten countries held in Seattle, Washington (Free Style and Compulsory Moves)
- 1981: WBTF allows teams at world competition
- 1982: NBTA, Great Britain division of NBTA International organized NBTA, Ronald Reagan sends telegram to participants of AYOP at Notre Dame USTA, Glenn Bittenbender first male to win three-baton title
- 1984: NBTA International introduces new rulebook with new age plan and Super-X strut.
- 1985: NBTA, first NBTA Europe All-Europe contest in Spain; Don Sartell authors *Understanding the Solo Score Sheet* chart for NBTA International
- 1988: NBTA, Twin Conference Program is done away with and replaced by one National Majorette Championship each year
- 1989: DMA introduces Senior Majorette Queen title (Ashley Edmonds, champion)
- 1990: NBTA International hosts their first world competition in Amsterdam, Holland
- 1991: Official WBTF Constitution with a complete set of by-laws, rules, and regulations signed by fourteen countries.
- 1993: WBTF allows pairs at world competition
  - WBTF, Baton twirling presented as a promotional sport at the World Games, The Hague, Netherlands.
  - NBTA International sets "Safety First" rule to protect baton twirlers and the integrity of

		•
baton	twir	lıng

- NBTA International hosts world competition in Marseilles, France
- 1996: NBTA World Championships, Italy
- 1997: NBTA, Poland joins NBTA International
- 1998: DMA, Victor Faber retires as National Executive Director. Doris Faber takes over.
- 1999: Last Who's Who of Baton Twirling is printed
- 2000: NBTA International hosts world competition in Birmingham, England
- 2003: NBTA International hosts world competition in Marseilles, France NBTA, first African American Grand National Champion (Juv.) and Juvenile Miss Majorette of America, Taylar Bolds
- 2005: WBTF replaces compulsory moves with a short program for senior men and women's divisions.
  - USTA, first International Cup
- 2006: NBTA International hosts world competition in Eindhoven, Netherlands
- 2009: NBTA International hosts world competition in Ghent, Belgium
- 2012: NBTA International hosts world competition in Switzerland
- 2014: Starline Baton purchases Sharp Baton
- 2015: World Federation of National Baton Twirling Associations (WFNBTA), First International Grand Prix with combined NBTA and USTA participation
  - NBTA International hosts world competition in Lignano, Italy